So how and why tattoo as an art? What’s your background?

I wanted to be an artist. I could not afford art school and wasn’t really doing great with regular school. No money for college and would not qualify for any kind of scholarship. I wasn’t told very much about financial aid. So just figured I’d have to find a different way into becoming an artist. So this is the perfect marriage of like trade in arts. So I learned a trade or have a trade, but I’m still doing art.

How did you kind of get to where you are now, especially with, when was the first time you were like tucked away at art?

I was dating someone who was getting tattooed and I saw how it was done and noticed that it could probably be a way for me to make a living. So it clicked while I was watching someone get tattooed.

What’s that kind of timeline like?

You have to find someone who’s willing to work with and teach you. There’s no school or anything like that. It can actually be kind of scary. You can find people who are not genuine in wanting to teach you or maybe tricking you into telling you they’re going to teach you in exchange for probably something less savory. It takes years to find the right person and the right place.

Now that you’re at Picture Machine Tattoo, who is the community that comes to you for a tattoo?

Oh, well I was born and raised in this neighborhood and this shop has been open since 1976. I grew up around this shop and always knew about this shop. So it was important for me and extra special for me to come work here because it’s like a staple in the Richmond district. Because the shop’s been open so long, there’ll be generations of people getting tattooed here, like in families, grandmothers, mothers, daughters who have all come here and been tattooed. It’s exciting. It’s really sweet to watch people be young and then grow up and then, you know, you’re witnessing that, it’s really cool.

You now have a very recognizable style, how did you reach your style?

Well, I always liked fine line style. And when I first started learning how to tattoo, I would try to pay special attention to and surround myself with people who match that style. It’s derived from a kind of biker style, like motorcycle and people who have been to prison definitely have this kind of tattoo style.

I want to ask about some of your favorite pieces you’ve done. Can you recall any particular pieces of someone that you’re like, this is something I’m super proud of?

I mean, obviously all of the pieces where I’m tattooing people’s handwriting. Those people bring me handwriting of their fathers or grandmothers or mothers, many of which have passed away. Those are really, really special to me for obvious reasons. Those really stand out and I pay special attention to them.

What are some misconceptions about the tattoo world or being a tattoo artist if there’s anything that you would like to dispel?

I guess people should remember to have fun when they want to get there. I do notice some people are really serious and take it seriously the whole time. I just don’t want people to forget that it’s fun too. They should enjoy themselves when they’re getting them. Let me take it seriously for you. You just relax and have fun. Haha. It’s hard to know what to expect. I definitely try to reassure people and instruct people on what not to get, how to lay down or you know, how to stay still. Sometimes it’s hard to know how to position your body when you’re like, “what do I do with my arms?”

Can you explain more about what you mean by a “pop-up?”

So basically what I’ll do is pick a theme. This past Friday the 13th, I did the Miss PAC-MAN constellations and those are really fun because they’re kind of silly. What I do is I’ll designate one page of art for people to pick from and then they’ll come in and I’ll set a price for that entire sheet. It’s a flat price, and then you just tell me which one you want to get and we’ll do it on you on the designated day.

How often do these pop-ups happen?

Definitely Friday the 13th, Halloween, and I’ll always try to do something cool on New Year’s Eve. That’ll be my last tattoo of the year. I always want to end the year off with something really neat. Just random holidays usually.

What are some exciting future projects you’re working on right now, if you can share?

I’ve been having a lot of fun with my pop-up events. I get to make my art and then provide it to people for a really good value and reasonable price. It’s fun the whole time, it’s super fun.

// You can find Jen on Instagram or you can stop into Picture Machine Tattoo on Geary. 5124 Geary Blvd, Outer Richmond; sftattoo.com.

 

 

Class Of 2019  Jen Wong - 20Class Of 2019  Jen Wong - 84Class Of 2019  Jen Wong - 98Class Of 2019  Jen Wong - 42Class Of 2019  Jen Wong - 65